Plenary Talk by

Dr. Manoj Gupta

Dr Manoj Gupta was a former Head of Materials Division of the Mechanical Engineering Department and Director designate of Materials Science and Engineering Initiative at NUS, Singapore. He did his Ph.D. from University of California, Irvine, USA (1992), and postdoctoral research at University of Alberta, Canada (1992). In August 2017 he was highlighted among Top 1% Scientist of the World Position by The Universal Scientific Education and Research Network. To his credit are: (i) Disintegrated Melt Deposition technique and (ii) Hybrid Microwave Sintering technique, an energy efficient solid-state processing method to synthesize alloys/micro/nano-composites. He has published over 450 peer reviewed journal papers and owns two US patents. His current h‐index is 55, RG index is 46 and citations are greater than 11000. He has also co‐authored five books, published by John Wiley and Springer in 2015. A multiple award winner, he actively collaborate/visit Japan, France, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, China, USA and India.


Keynote Speaker

Rashid K. Abu Al-Rub

Professor Abu Al-Rub is currently the Department Head of Mechanical and Materials Engineering Department at Masdar Institute of Science and Technology and Associate Department Head at the new established Khalifa University of Science and Technology. He has been a Professor at Texas A&M University with joint appointments with the Civil Engineering Department, the Materials Science and Engineering Department, Mechanical Engineering Department, and the Texas Transportation Institute since 2007. Currently, he is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Air Force Institute of Technology of Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, USA. He was also a Professor at Louisiana State University and at Catholic University of America in Washington DC, USA.


Professor Abu Al-Rub primary research field of interest is on the development of macro/micro/nano-mechanics-based constitutive models and computational tools that can be used effectively in guiding the design of advanced materials and structural systems. He is the director of the SMART MASDAR Laboratory (Sustainable Materials for Advanced and Revolutionary Technologies at Masdar). Professor Abu Al-Rub has published one book and over 250 publications in archival journals, book chapters, and conference proceedings. He has served as the principle/co-principal investigator of more than 25 projects sponsored by various state, federal, and international agencies; he is responsible for more than $17Million. In 2007, he has been selected among nine leading scientists in the US by National Science Foundation and Department of Energy to design new grades of advanced high strength steels for the auto industry. He is one of the members of the US National Science Foundation supported “International Institute for Multifunctional Materials for Energy Conversion.” Professor Abu Al-Rub has received several international awards in the area of Mechanics of Materials. He received the Beer and Johnston Jr. Outstanding Mechanics Educator Award from the American Society for Engineering Education. He has been among the Scholar Google 100 Most Cited Authors in Civil Engineering.




List of Participating Universities

  1.  American University of Sharjah
  2.  Masdar University, Abu Dhabi
  3.  Rochester Institute of Technology, Dubai
  4.  Amity University, Dubai
  5.  King Saud University, Saudi Arabia
  6.  Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
  7.  Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
  8.  Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  9.  Indian Institute of Technology ISM Dhanbad
  10.  Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
  11.  Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar
  12.  Indian Institute of Technology Varanasi
  13.  Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
  14.  Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati
  15.  Indian Institute of Technology Patna
  16.  Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur
  17.  Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat
  18.  National Institute of Technology, Rourkela
  19.  Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal
  20.  National Institute of Technology, Silchar
  21.  National Institute of Technology, Trichy
  22.  National Institute of Technology, Durgapur
  23.  Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Dubai
  24.  Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Hyderabad
  25.  Birla Institute of Technology and Science,  Goa
  26.  Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani
  27.  Coimbatore Institute of Technology, Tamil Nadu
  28.  B.M.S. College of Engineering, Bengaluru
  29.  KCG College of Technology, Chennai
  30.  Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune
  31.  PES Institute of Technology, Bengaluru
  32.  Cooch Behar Government Engineering College, W.Bengal
  33.  Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
  34.  Anna University, Chennai
  35.  Kalasalingam University, Tamil Nadu
  36.  Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering, Chennai
  37.  CMRCE, Hyderabad
  38.  CVRCE, Hyderabad
  39.  Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland
  40.  PDPI, Bits Goa
  41.  Manipal Institute of Technology, Bits Goa
  42.  PDPU Gandhinagar
  43.  Karunya University
  44.  Kalasalingam University
  45.  Anna - Kings Engineering College, Chennai
  46.  CSIR, Hyderabad
  47.  JNT, Hyderabad